How to reset the start date of a rehired employee

How to reset the start date of a rehired employee

When an employee is rehired, you may wish to set their start date to their rehire date to reset the time they have been at your organization. The employee's original hire date will still be visible on their journey so you can always see their complete history. In some cases, you may wish for their overall start date to reflect their rehire date so that Quick Insights reflects the time they have been with your organization since they returned. This is also important if you have Time Off policies that only come into effect if an employee has been with the company for a certain amount of time.

Resetting the start date can be done in just four steps:

1. In the People menu on the left-hand side, under Directory, click People. Select the employee you wish to edit the start date for.


2. Navigate to the Work tab in the employee's profile.


3. Click Edit to change the employee start date.


4. Select a start date and click Save.



The employee's complete history is still tracked on the Journey tab, including their original start date, but their profile summary and Quick Insights will now reflect the time that they have been employed with your organization since returning.