How to delete a department

How to delete a department

1. Sign into the Rise platform, then under Directory, click Departments on the left hand side menu. 



2. Click the three dots next to the department name, then click Delete department.



Note that departments that contain employees cannot be deleted. Follow the steps in our article on How to remove an employee from a department before deleting the department.

3. Confirm that you wish to delete the department. Deleting departments cannot be reversed.



In some cases, you won’t be able to delete the department even if it contains no employees. Usually, this happens because the department was used on a previous pay run. Departments used on a pay run cannot be deleted as they may need to be reported on in the future.