Use hours classification

Use hours classification

Hours classification allows you to pay employees at different rates for the same shift, such as paying them overtime wages. This should happen automatically according to the employee profile, but you can also manually override hours classifications.

You can modify an hours classification for a shift, even if it has already been marked for as Ready for Payroll . However, be careful when you do this—if payroll has already been processed, your changes won’t be applied.

For more information about reviewing and modifying the Time Approval sheet, check out our How to review and modify time in Rise Scheduling & Time Tracking article. 

To change a shift’s hours classification:

1. Click the hours classification next to the shift you would like to edit.


2. Click the + next to the first classification.


3. Use the dropdown to select the classification you wish to use. Input the time for the classification. You can also edit the time for the first classification in the same way.


4. If you wish to add another classification, click the + again. To remove a classification, click the - beside the classification you wish to remove.


Ensure that the hours for the classifications add up to the total hours worked by the employee. For example: if an employee worked 9 hours total, you would add 1 hour at the overtime rate and change the regular rate from 9 hours to 8 hours.

5. Click Apply.