In some situations, you may require all of your employees to be working over a period of time to ensure that your organization is able to meet a tight deadline or that you’re adequately staffed for a busy stretch. By setting blackout periods, you can prevent employees from taking time off during specific times.
To create blackout periods:
1. Click on your profile icon in the upper right corner, and then click Settings.
2. On the Settings page, click App Settings.
3. On the App Settings page, navigate to the Custom Blackouts tab.
4. To create a new blackout period, click + Add Blackout.
Once the blackout period has been saved, all employees will see the blackout period in their calendar as shown below.
When an employee attempts to request time off during the blackout period, they will be shown a popup which explains that blackout periods cannot be booked off and to contact their manager with any questions. For information on how to record employee time off during blackout periods, check out our How to override blackout periods article.