How to override blackout periods

How to override blackout periods

If an employee is away from work for reasons outside of their control such as illness or bereavement, you may need to record their time off during a blackout period.

To override a blackout period and record the employee’s time off:

1. In People, click an employee’s name to open their profile.


2. Navigate to the Time Off tab of the employee’s profile, and click View Dashboard to open the employee’s time off dashboard.


3. Navigate to the Request History tab of the employee’s time off dashboard, and click Record Time Off Taken.


4. From the dropdown, select which time off policy you want to use for the recorded time off. After you’ve selected a policy, choose the start and end dates for the time off and click Add.


5. If the recorded time off overlaps with a blackout period, the popup will show a warning. To override the blackout period and record the time off, click Submit request.